2019 Award & Prize Winners

There are several annual awards and prizes typically presented at Cochrane Colloquia. As 2019 winners are announced, they will be showcased here. 

The Anne Anderson Award

The Anne Anderson Award recognizes a female member of Cochrane who has made a significant contribution to the enhancement and visibility of women's participation within Cochrane.  More information about this award can be found here

Congratulations to Tianjing Li, Winner of 2019 Anne Anderson Prize

Dr. Tianjing Li serves as Principal Investigator for Cochrane Eyes and Vision at US Satellite. She has worked with Cochrane in various capacities for over 15 years. During the 15 years, she has inspired female trainees and served as a role model for female students who are interested in Cochrane relevant reviews.

The Chris Silagy Prize

The Chris Silagy Prize is awarded at every Cochrane Colloquium to an individual who has made an “extraordinary” contribution to the Cochrane' s work.

Congratulations to Anna Noel-Starr, winner of 2019 Chris Silagy Prize

Anna works within Cochrane as the Information Specialist for the Cochrane Dementia and Cognitive Improvement Group (CDCIG), a Member of the Cochrane Information Specialist Support Team, and Manager of Cochrane Crowd; Anna was awarded the Chris Silagy Prize for her work in establishing, developing, leading and being the heart and soul of Cochrane Crowd. 

The Bill Silverman Prize

The Bill Silverman Prize is offered annually and explicitly acknowledges Cochrane's value of criticism, with a view to helping to improve its work, and thus achieve its aim of helping people make well-informed decisions about health care by providing the best possible evidence on the effects of healthcare interventions.

Congratulations to Nicole Skoetz, winner of 2019 Bill Silverman Prize

Nicole Skoetz is the Senior Editor of the Cochrane Cancer Network and a member of Cochrane's Scientific Committee. She has been a member of numerous Cochrane committees, including the Monitoring and Registration Committee, Methods Application and Review Standards, Managing Editors Executive, and Coordinating Editors Executive.

Nicole won for her paper; ‘Methodological review showed correct absolute effect size estimates for time-to-event outcomes in less than one-third of cancer-related systematic reviews.' 

The Thomas C Chalmers Award

The Award is given at each Cochrane Colloquium to the principal author of both the best oral and the best poster presentation addressing methodological issues related to systematic reviews given by an early career investigator. The presentations must demonstrate originality of thought, high quality science, relevance to the advancement of the science of systematic reviews and clarity of presentation.

Congratulations to Dena Zeraatkar for Best Oral Presentation

Dena Zeraatkar is a doctoral candidate in the department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact at McMaster University and a member of the NutriRECS group, an international consortium of nutrition researchers and methodologists dedicated to developing dietary recommendations that adhere to internationally accepted standards for credible guideline development.

Dena won for her presentation "A novel approach to evaluate the plausibility of causal relationships from non-randomized studies"

Congratulations to Rui Wang for Best Poster Presentation

Dr. Rui Wang contributes to the Cochrane community as an author and reviewer. He is a probationary editor for the Cochrane Gynaecology and Fertility Group (CGF). His research interests are evidence synthesis methods and randomised controlled trials with a focus on women's health.

Rui won for his poster "Reporting of Cochrane systematic review protocols with network meta-analyses – a scoping review"

The Aubrey Sheiham Evidence-based Health Care in Africa Leadership Award

This award is awarded annually to a researcher from Africa to complete a Cochrane Review on a topic of relevance to their region, and to cascade relevant knowledge about Cochrane and evidence-based health care to their local networks.

Congratulations to Marianne Visser, winner of 2019 Aubrey Sheiham Leadership Award

Dr Visser is from the Centre for Evidence Based Health Care at Stellenbosch University. The review she will undertake is titled: Agricultural and nutritional educational interventions for reducing aflatoxin exposure to improve infant and child growth in low- and middle-income countries.